No war on Ukraine

This appeal was drafted after some informal discussion among anti-war activists, concerned at the small size of the anti-war protests against Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. It aims to establish the central principles around which the broadest possible anti-war activity can be built.

"Massive demonstrations against war and in solidarity with the Ukrainian people all over Europe have not so far been matched in the UK, where protests have been small and often divided. We appeal to the entire Labour and trade union movement, pacifists, faith leaders, humanitarians, antiwar activists, those in solidarity with the Ukrainian people and all right-minded internationalists to build the broadest possible movement around three central demands:

• Russian troops out of Ukraine!
• No to war!
• Refugees welcome here!"

Thank you for the support for the appeal. The signatories list is no longer being updated. You can see the final list here.

Another Ukraine solidarity appeal letter by mayors and local government officials in the UK can be found here.


Andy Barrett, Artistic Director, Excavate Theatre Company
Geoff Bell, author
Andrew Berry, Islington UNISON Labour Link Officer
Angie Birtill, former Camden cllr
Christopher Bright, TULO, Camberwell & Peckham CLP
Dr Michael Calderbank, author, The Cost of Living Crisis
Caroline Carney, Disability Labour
Mary Kaldor, Director of the Conflict Research Programme at LSE
Michael Chessum, writer
Louise Christian, lawyer
Terry Conway, Chair, Hackney and Islington Unite Community
Cllr Yasmine Dar, Manchester City Council
Liz Davies, barrister
Nick Dearden, Director, Global Justice Now
Alex Doherty, Journalist
Jon Duveen, District Secretary, Cambridgeshire NEU
Cllr Maya Evans, Hastings Council
Pete Firmin, vice chair, Brent Trades Council
Andrew Fisher, Chair, Croydon Central CLP (personal capacity)
Peter Frankental, human rights activist
Dr Sharif Gemie, writer
Cllr Alan Gibbons, Warbreck, Liverpool
Owen Hatherley, writer and editor
Robin Humphrey, Professor Emeritus, Newcastle University
Juliet Jacques, writer/filmmaker
Ewa Jasiewicz, Union Organiser
Kathryn Johnson, Hackney North & Stoke Newington CLP Policy Officer
Davy Jones, Green Party PPC, Brighton Kempton 2015
Zita Holbourne, Human Rights Campaigner, author, National Chair BARAC UK
Dave Kellaway, Hackney North and Stoke Newington CLP delegate
Jon Lansman, former Labour Party NEC and Chair of Momentum
Paul Laverty, screenwriter
Ken Loach, filmmaker
Zbigniew Luczynski, Campaigns Officer Rushcliffe Labour CLP
Cllr Sue Lukes, Islington Council
Dorothy Macedo, vice chair, West Sussex Co-operative Party
Paul Mackney, Former General Secretary NATFHE/UCU
Cllr Barrie Margetts, Southampton City Council
Kathy Meade, advocate for migrants
John Moloney, PCS Assistant General Secretary
Jim Monaghan, retired, former member of Peoples Democracy Ireland
Jonathan Neale, writer
Rafal Pankowski, NEVER AGAIN Association
Dave Pardoe, Vice Chair, PCS British Council branch (personal capacity)
Susan Pashkoff, Women's Officer, Leyton and Wanstead CLP
Dr Mike Phipps, author, For the Many, Chair of Brent Stop the War
Simon Pirani, Honorary Professor, University of Durham
Dr Peter Purton, retired LGBTQI activist
Jon Rainwater, Executive Director, Peace Action
Nicky Reeves, curator, The Hunterian, University of Glasgow
David Renton, barrister
Ian Saville, socialist magician
Emma Saunders, Leicester West CLP Chair
Lynne Segal, Writer
Harry Stannard, General Management Committee, Leicester West CLP
Ilya Trombitsky, Executive Director, International Association of River Keepers, Moldova
Joan Twelves, former Leader of Lambeth Council
Hilary Wainwright, Red Pepper / Transnational Institute
Dr Roger Welch, retired member of UCU University of Portsmouth branch
Cllr John Whitworth, London Borough of Newham
» List continues on signatories page